Budapest, Hungary

Common Words in Hungarian


Thank You - köszönöm
Pardon Me - Bocsásson meg!
Check Please - ellenőrizze kérem
Hello - Szia!


Notes/Resources


Map - http://bit.ly/2m5e2zy
Lonely Planet - https://www.lonelyplanet.com/hungary/budapest
Wiki Travel - http://wikitravel.org/en/Budapest
Official City website - http://www.budapest.com/
Uber - Yes


Things to do

Royal Palace - http://www.lonelyplanet.com/hungary/budapest/sights/castles-palaces-mansions/royal-palace

Margaret Bridge - http://www.lonelyplanet.com/hungary/budapest/sights/architecture/margaret-bridge

Parliament Building - http://www.lonelyplanet.com/hungary/budapest/sights/architecture/parliament

Memento Park - https://www.lonelyplanet.com/hungary/budapest/sights/historic/memento-park

Great Synagogue - https://www.lonelyplanet.com/hungary/budapest/sights/religious/great-synagogue
http://www.greatsynagogue.hu/gallery_syn.html

Aquincum Museum - https://www.lonelyplanet.com/hungary/budapest/sights/museums-galleries/aquincum-museum (closed on Mondays)

Hungarian State Opera House - http://www.opera.hu/

Hungarian University of Fine Arts - http://www.mke.hu/e

Hungarian National Gallery - http://mng.hu/en

Budapest Keleti railway station - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Budapest_Keleti_railway_station

Danube river cruise: https://legenda.hu/en/danube-legend (make sure to make reservations)

Free Walking Tour - http://www.triptobudapest.hu/tours/the-original-tour/

Book Cafe - Lotz Terem - https://www.facebook.com/Book-Cafe-Lotz-Terem-231538993528751/

Hero's square - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H%C5%91s%C3%B6k_tere

Deák square - http://welovebudapest.com/budapest.and.hungary/sights.1/deak.ferenc.square

Erzsébet square - http://welovebudapest.com/budapest.and.hungary/sights.1/erzsebet.square

Budapest Great Indoor Market Hall - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Market_Hall_(Budapest)

St. Stephen's Basilica - www.bazilika.biz

Hungarian Jewish Museum (Magyar Zsidó Múzeum és Levéltár) - www.milev.hu

Victor Vasarely Museum - www.vasarely.hu

Museum of Fine Arts - www.szepmuveszeti.hu

Hungarian House of Photography - http://maimano.hu/en/4277-2/

Jeno Hubay Music Hall - hubayzeneiskola.hu

Váci Street - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/V%C3%A1ci_Street

Liberty Square - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberty_Square_(Budapest)

Szechenyi Chain Bridge - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chain_Bridge_(Budapest)

Holnemvolt Park / Botanical Garden & Zoo - www.zoobudapest.com

Fisherman’s Bastion - www.fishermansbastion.com

Memento Park - www.mementopark.hu

Budapest History Museum - http://budacastlebudapest.com/budapest-history-museum/

Margaret Island - https://www.budapestbylocals.com/margaret-island.html

Károlyi Garden - https://welovebudapest.com/en/venue/karolyi-kert-karolyi-garden-2

Citadella - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citadella

Marczibanyiter Cultural Center (for shows) - www.marczi.hu

Rudas Baths - www.rudasfurdo.hu

Gellert Baths - www.gellertfurdo.hu

Szechenyi Baths - http://szechenyispabaths.com/

Veli Ben Baths - www.irgalmas.hu

 


Where to eat when you're on a budget

Auguszt Confectionery - https://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g274887-d1478658-Reviews-Auguszt_Cukraszda-Budapest_Central_Hungary.html
Kontakt - https://www.facebook.com/kontaktstore?_rdr
Comme Chez Soi - http://www.commechezsoi.hu/
Bors GasztroBar - https://www.facebook.com/BorsGasztroBar
Local Korner - http://www.localkorner.hu/
Zeller Bistro - https://www.facebook.com/Zeller-Bistro-486188564780604/
BookCafé (Lotz Hall) - www.lotzterem.hu
Kertem - https://www.facebook.com/kertemfesztival/
New York Cafe - www.newyorkcafe.hu
Muvesz Kavehaz - www.muveszkavehaz.hu
Ruszwurm Cukraszda - www.ruszwurm.hu
Central Kavehaz - www.centralkavehaz.hu
Var Bistro - https://www.facebook.com/V%C3%A1r-Bistro-301382759927362/
Macesz Huszar - www.maceszbistro.hu
Cafe Kor - www.cafekor.net
Pesti Diszno - www.pestidiszno.hu
Bamba Marha Burger Bar - https://www.facebook.com/bambamarhaburger
Gyros Kerkyra Görög Ételbár - kerkyra.co.hu
Padthai Wokbar - padthaiwokbar.com
Arriba Taqueria - www.arriba.hu
Marumoto Japanese Tea Room - www.marumoto.eu


Bars & Clubs

ToLTo - https://www.facebook.com/toltobar
Szimpla Kert ruin pub (club) - http://szimpla.hu/
Cervinteto - www.corvinclub.hu
Csendes Tars - www.csend.es
Kiado Kocsma - https://www.facebook.com/kiadokocsma
Instant - http://instant.co.hu/en/
Potkulcs - www.potkulcs.hu
Grandio - www.grandio.insta-hostel.com
Doboz - www.doboz.pm
Szimpla Kert - www.szimpla.hu
Fogasház - www.fogashaz.hu
Ankert - https://www.facebook.com/ankertbar/
Doblo wine bar live jazz - http://www.budapestwine.com/